Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether newly erected residential buildings should follow the style of existing ones. While some argue that people should be given the right of building their houses in the style of their choice, I believe that these new houses need to adopt the same style as the old ones.

On the one hand, there are various reasons why some people are in favour of the idea that everyone can build their houses in their own style. They may assert that it is acceptable as long as the construction of these buildings abides by the local construction regulations and is permitted by the authorities. In other words, it is their freedom and personal decisions that should be viewed as important. Additionally, it could be much more economical to construct a modern simple house rather than one that follow the architectural standards of the past.

On the other hand, I believe that newly built residences should be in line with the old ones in terms of their style. Firstly, the similarity in the design of new and old buildings will create an architectural agreement, which can complement the appearance of the local areas. Secondly, the traditional designs of houses in a certain region usually reflect the cultural values of that region. Therefore, it is important to strictly follow these patterns as a way of maintaining traditions. For example, it is compulsory that private houses in the ancient town of Hoi An adhere to the same old construction styles so that the overall architectural structure of the town, for which it is renowned, can be preserved.

To conclude, although it seems that people should be allowed to construct their houses in their own style, I support the idea that the style of new houses need to be the same as that of the ones which were built earlier.