Some people think the news has no connection to people s lives so it is a waste of time to read the news in the newspaper and watch television news programmes To what extent do you agree or disagree

There remains a group of people arguing that updating news by newspaper or television programs is time-consuming as they believe that that information has nothing to do with their lives. While I accept that following news reports might be somewhat a time-wasting, I disagree with those who reject the relevance between news and individuals’ lives.

The first key point to be brought home to those people is that news reporting nowadays covers a wide range of information, including sport, politics, education, economy, and beyond. On account of that, one may presumably find several topics of news that suit their hobbies, interest or professions, in which they can immerse themselves. On another word, so absurd is it to deem news and people’s lives are not of minimal connections.

In addition, reading and watching the news - even irrelevant to people’s interest - can be the life-saving information one day. For example, amid the spectre of the infectious disease outbreaks, following reports of cases incidence and medical instructions on news programs may safeguard people from the viral infection. Otherwise, those who miss out on the breaking news of the epidemic appear to put themselves in danger as they unconsciously come to alarming areas.

Nonetheless, to single out news of interest or news with important detail entails people a great amount of time. Indeed, the proliferation of the mass media prompts news updates and podcasting programs to be displayed in a dense frequency, with repetitive or overlapping contents – which are so-called “junk articles”. In consequence, whether or not it is informative, getting update of news these days tends to render people overwhelmed.

In conclusion, despite the drawback in respect of time required, I would maintain that information from newspaper and television news updating is indispensable since it relates to people’s interest or even the matter of life and death.