Some people think that one of the best ways to solve environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuels for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Severe environmental damage has generated arguable solutions, yet many believe raising the cost of fuels is the most effective method. While I conceive that this creates a favorable process to nature, I think it is narrow and will not work in the long-term.

It is clear that the increase the price of fossil fuels has many positive impacts on the environment. To begin with, many private transportations is the main source of air pollution. While travelling by cars, the toxic air injecting the environment is maximized, as it is multiplied by the number of individuals that should have used a public transportation. For instance, a bus comprises 30 people, and with those people using their own private vehicles, it will be 30 times more polluted. This is an alarming torture towards natural environment and humans’ health. Additionally, these vehicles are using fossil fuel, which is an irreversible fuel and this drains out the balance of natural environment. More transportations require more provision of energy, and natural resources will soon run out by this intensive rate of usage.

However, this is not merely efficient as fuel is not the only reason for environmental problem. Raising fuels cost can only degrade air pollution. Nevertheless, individuals may have forgotten about the transition between the pollution state. A soil pollutants will eventually migrate into water body, and with water evaporating, this will recreate air pollution. Therefore, this solution can only reduce an inconsiderable amount of pollution, that will soon be balanced through transition process. Moreover, there are more productive methods that the government can easily execute. It should be obligatory for factories and companies to take full responsibility of their waste, which they are not allowed to dispose toxic pollutants to the atmosphere and rivers. The authorities should prohibit and fine them heavily if they are not following the policy. Needless to say, this solution will help a nation raise awareness and propagate to conserve the environment.

Regarding the positive impact of raising fossil fuel price, the environment will not be conserved properly in the long-term. I strongly believe that this option is not favorable to solve the environmental problems.