Some people think that only the best students should be rewarded. Others, however, it is more important to reward student who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Educationists have long used rewards as an important motivational technique to keep students enthusiastic with studying. While some people think that students with improvements deserve a reward, I firmly believe top students are more rewardable.

Advocates of the idea of rewarding according to improvements can base their argument upon the foundation of utilitarian beliefs. Compared to the small quantity of high-achievers at school, the number of average students is massive, and the improvements of the majority must be ensured. Given this rewarding scheme, average students, who are often demotivated by the idea that top positions are always beyond their reach, are properly targeted. With a little reward at each step, these students’ inclination for study is maintained, and their scores may increase accordingly.

However, I side with those who believe only excellent students should be rewarded. While improvement in academic results can be gained by determination in the short term, the pursuit of academic excellence requires sustainable efforts throughout the whole course of studying. It is therefore rational and fair to reward the best students, the ones who have devoted the most to study. In addition, this rewarding method reflects the exact reality when a student enters the labor market, where the finest job offers are only available to those who excel in what they do. All the students, including the average ones, acknowledging this, are motivated to endeavor to achieve higher academically.

In a word, the discussion of rewarding policies based on either improvements or outstanding study records shows clear and convincing evidence that it is more appropriate to reward first-class students.