Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, the role of education in modern life is more imperative than ever before. However, there are always plenty of arguments in this field involving whether family or school should be the one to be responsible for educating children to become a good citizen. In this essay, I will discuss both view and give my own opinion.

First of all, it is generally believed that family is the basic unit of society and all foundation should be formed from young age. Parents have more opportunities to communicate with their children and teach them essential social values. Moreover, characteristics are usually formed very early and have significant impacts on a child's future. Therefore, leaving this responsibility to parents is a suitable choice as it saves both effort and time to deal with several children with different problems at the same time.

However, people who support the first view often forget one important factor in the development of a child. Although most of the characteristic is built during their childhood, many social opinions, including how they evaluate an issue, how they react to urgent social problems and so on, are not completely made up until their teenager time. Consequently, school plays a virtual role in this period to help them form a good point of view and get a clear awareness of their duties. Furthermore, their school life also contributes to their attitude toward surrounding people and decide whether they can obtain certain elements of a citizen.

All things considered, I firmly believe that both parents and school should co-operate to help children become a good member of society because it is the duty of everybody to build a greater community.