Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The way children behave and contribute to the society when they grow up is a topical debate. While some people arguing that parents should be the one who teaches their children to be a good citizen, others think that schools would be a better solution. In this essay, I am going to discuss both sides of this argument.

On the one hand, there are several benefits when children are taught to be a good citizen by their parents. Firstly, parents often understand their children more than anyone else because they have spent a large amount of time with their siblings since they were a child, so it would be easier for them to teach their children. Secondly, children are likely to be more open with their parents rather than their teachers at school, so it would be a great advantage for their parents to teach them. For example, in Vietnam, children often discuss with their parents about subjects or their personal feeling at school in the dinner.

On the other hand, school is also a reliable method to teach children how to be a good member of the society. With the knowledge and experience of teaching, teachers will have a more professional and efficient way to teach children when compared it to their parents. Moreover, there are rules and disciplines at school to support teachers with their teaching. Children will have punishments if they didn’t follow these rules, so they often listen to their teachers to avoid getting punished.

In conclusion, both of these methods are effective for children, however, from my point of view, I prefer parents to teach their siblings rather than letting schools handle it because of several reasons which I mentioned above.