Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views

Parents are often viewed as best mentor for children to make them a good citizen whereas other disapprove it. They believe that it is the responsibility of the teachers to teach the children how to act as perfect member of the community. In my opinion both teachers and parents are responsible for grooming the child, however parents should play a greater role than teacher in this aspect.

Parents are the role model to their children. Kids tend to copy their parents act and behaviour. Therefore, parent’s attitude and relation with children influence largely on the development of personality and character of their children. Parents can easily impart good thought into their children through their good act. For example, if parents follow the law in day to day life activities, that also disseminate into their children to be a law abiding citizen. Moreover, children learn life lesion without fear from their parents. Parents have the opportunity to take corrective measures of any wrong doing by their children as kids spend most of the time with parents out of school.

On the other hand, some argue that academic institute like school has a greater role to teach the children how to ordeal. Children are governed by a prototype guideline in the school that help them the learn discipline beside academic lesson. Teachers play a crucial role in navigating student’s negative idea and thought into positive channel, so that they grow up as good citizen. However, it may not possible to pay equal attention to each student to rectify his or her bad ideas. In addition teachers are often unaware of the student’s family atmosphere, cultural values and constrains, those parameter act as catalyst to a good member of the society.

In conclusion, both parents and teacher play an important role in helping the children to be a good member of the society, however parent should take a greater responsibility than the teacher to make their children a good citizen.