Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others,however,believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, many hold the view that parents should teach their children to be good social members. However, there is a body of opinion which claims that schools should teach this. In this essay, I would examine both sides of the debate and give my opinion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that parenting could foster children’s characters. On the average, parents are the one who spends long time with children and may directly or indirectly affect them. For example, if the parents are responsible for what they have done, especially their mistakes, it is highly possible that their next generations may follow in their foot steps and acquire a sense of obligation.

On the other hand, nonetheless, schooling provides an opportunity for students to expand their outlook. Compared with parents, teachers at school are more professional and better-trained, helping their pupils absorb knowledge easily, especially difficult academic knowledge. Furthermore, schools can help improve team spirit. This is because the educational place can gather plenty of students with different family background and assign them to group tasks.

To summarise, there is no doubt that parenting benefits children’s characters. At the same time, nevertheless, schooling could help students to broaden their horizon and foster a sense of cooperation. In the final analysis, therefore, one can only conclude that it is schools that should educate students to be good social members.