Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

To teach children to become well-behaved citizens in the future is an important responsibility of adults. Some people contend that it is solely parents’ duty; whereas others believe that schools are responsible for that. In my opinion, I do think that responsibility belongs to both parents and educational institutions.

On the one hand, parents play an important role in teaching kids to become good members of our society. Firstly, parents are believed as children’s role models; therefore, they will look up to and imitate their parents. In fact, children usually copy their parents’ behaviors toward other people or situations. If their parents get along well with their relatives and neighbors, they will behave similarly and have strong connections with the others. Secondly, fathers and mothers are ones who spend a lot of time with their kids. Consequently, they can observe their children carefully and teach them whenever they misbehave or make a mistake. Take dining etiquette as an example, only by spending time eating with their parents can children understand the eating culture and rules when having meals with different types of people. Therefore, those lessons from their parents will follow them until they are mature and become good members of society.

On the other hand, the school also takes part in the progress of educating children in order to become moral citizens. The first important reason is that moral lessons from school do manipulate students behaviors and help them distinguish right and wrong. For example, only by studying general law and legislation can students stay away from alcohol and drug not only when they are young but also later in their lives. Another interesting motive is that school is a small society so that children can experience various situations happened daily in order to make them aware of what is going to happen in real life. In fact, conflicts, competitions among friends and deep discussions contribute greatly in forming children’s lifestyle and appropriate ways to react to those situations.

In conclusion, both parents and schools share responsibility in educating children to become good citizens in the future. Both parties should pay more attention to children in order to instantaneously help them stay away from bad factors surrounding them.