Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Paying taxes is an important responsibility which members of most societies shoulder. While some think that just this contribution suffices to regard them as good citizens, I side with those who believe that there are other essential qualities that people should always bear in mind.

On the one hand, supporters say there are two main reasons why taxpayers’ contribution is more than enough for society. Governments, to a certain extent, are financially dependent on these fees as they need to fill the budget. This money is used to give salaries, construct new homes, support social services, such as public libraries and schools, to name but a few. In addition to being the main economic driver, taxes also ensure medical care after retirement for some people. In developed countries, for example, social security taxes which working people pay throughout their lives add up to provide them with free access to use healthcare services.

However, I agree with those who argue that there are other responsibilities which people should take. Firstly, they should care about the environment. Never have green issues been so common as nowadays and people should do their fair share to make at least a small difference, for instance by recycling. Secondly, good members of society are always law-obedient. Societies should not look as scary places because of the increasing number of incidents. If people abide by the law, this, I think, is as valuable contribution they make to their society as paying taxes.

In conclusion, although there are convincing arguments as to whether paying is the most crucial contribution to society, I support those who believe that people should also be environmentally-conscious and law-obedient.