Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities.to what extend do you agree

In recent decades, many researchers have studied the importance of group-level cognition in improving the mental ability of a person. I strongly believe that group activities help the individual to cope up with life. Team games and study groups are the best examples to discuss this view.

To begin with, team games require the individuals to be coordinated with each other, so it requires for them to perform a diverse range of calculations in their mind within a short span of time. For example, a research conducted by Cambridge university on soccer players revealed that, the players need to perform over a dozen permutations, within a span of seconds for single action. As a result of team work, such prediction abilities results in an improvement in players’ mental abilities, which in turn helps them to win the game.

Secondly, study groups would help a particular student to gain the skills, he would not have acquired in isolation. This is because, peer feedback helps to refine the understanding of a concept and also helps to learn new information. For instance, a study conducted by British university, found that, if students were allowed to participate in group activities, it would help in improvement of their mental abilities, which is not possible when in isolation.

To conclude, I believe that group-level cognition helps the students to improve their intellect and mental abilities. So, educational institutions need to focus the students in group activities rather than in individual activities.