Some people think that public health is the responsibility of the government while others think that people should be responsible for their own health.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There is no doubt that health is the primary concern of every human being. However, while some prefer to pay for personal service, I agree with those who argue that good health care should be available to everyone for free.

Firstly, it is vital that the cure for several diseases should be immediate. For this reason, people often choose to pay for private health insurance since this service offer shorter waiting lists for appointment and operations. By choosing exclusive clinics, patients benefit from fast and most of the time more professional treatment, unlikely the public hospitals where there are so many medical students in training. There are other facilities such as choosing your doctor and having your own room. It is undeniable that private medicine is not for everyone, but only for those who can afford it.

Nevertheless, I believe that good health care should be a right for every person since each one of us pays our taxes to the state, the government take care of public health by using part of that money. As a result, everyone has access to the same quality of care and treatment. Conversely, if there was no state health care, then lots of patients, who can't afford treatment, will suffer or worst will die without having any possibility.

In conclusion, although it is evident that the private health system offers a better quality of cure under a conspicuous payment, I feel that should be the government's duty to provide higher medical service to all its citizens.