Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion

There is no doubt that learning a foreign language nowadays plays a crucial role in our society. While some believe that the only reason to master a foreign language is due to work or to travel, I would agree with those who argue that there are myriad of motivations for doing so.

Firstly, globalisation and technology have brought people around the world closer to each other. The internet has given people the possibility to connect faster and achieve jobs all around the planet, and by doing so the importance of knowing the language of the country you are going to work becomes essential. Also, today people travel a lot for pleasure since being a tourist doesn't cost as much as it did before. knowing the mother tongue of the visited places is entertaining since people can understand better the culture and way of leaving there.

That said, I believe learning new languages has other advantages. For instance, it is vital for students who study abroad knowing the spoken language of the hosting country. It would be impossible for them to make it through exams if they did not learn it before. Another reason why you should learn a foreign language is that the knowledge of a foreign language enhances your cognitive and analytical abilities. Learning a foreign language is tough and involves a lot of mental exercise. On the individual level, it improves personality and increases your sense of self-worth. The need of language faculties has increased due to the -growing interest in students to learn foreign languages. People associated with social services need to work with diverse groups from several countries. Ability to speak in a foreign language enables them to communicate and serve people better.

In conclusion, In today’s era, multilingualism has become more than just ‘important’. Knowing a foreign language other than your native language has evolved to be extremely beneficial. Whether viewed from the financial or social aspect, being able to communicate in a foreign language helps to make ‘real’ connection with people and provides a better understanding of your language.