countries are becoming more and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world.

do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, we live in an era where globalisation, technology and tourism, have brought countries all over the world closer to each other. While I agree with the freedom that everyone has today to purchase goods from different parts of the world, I believe that the drawbacks of this development outrage the benefits.

The society we live in today is clearly highly consumptive. By this I mean we consume mass-produced commodities in abundance, and with the help of technology, we can share them with the rest of the world. As a result, this big amount of products laid on the production of further waste and pollution. Furthermore, globalisation has allowed business becoming increasingly international, with agreements for open trade facilities between countries, which means goods are manufactured in one country and sold in many others. Although it encourages investments and can help reduce poverty in the less developed countries, where labour is cheaper, global trade has its black side, which is the exploit of the workers from the companies in those countries.

Another negative impact of global trade is that today nations are losing their identity and traditions. While before there was more awareness about national rots, in our days we are becoming more and more the same, aspiring to western societies, and forgetting what makes us unique. For example, tourist instead of tasting the cuisine of the visited nations often prefer to consume meals at Mac Donalds, or food chains like this, thus the host countries adapt their cuisine to the tourist. Even the dress code is becoming the same globally. The influence of social media has played a major role in this phenomenon advertising in real-time the latest fashion trends worldwide.

In conclusion, global trade has its positives sides, such as bounding countries economically more easily, but those sides produce negative results in our world making our communities more consumptive causing environmental damages and contributing on fading nationals traditions in many countries.