Some people think reading stories in books is better than watching TV or playing computer games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the technology-driven world, while some people opine that vivid images on television and video games are beneficial for children, others still advocate the conventional reading. This essay agree that reading books is superior to gluing eyes to the small screens in terms of concentration level and the function of brain.

It is inevitable that the ability to focus of children is maintained and enhanced thanks to reading books. In other words, young people need to stay concentrated in order to follow the flow of content and absorb an overall insight in the field they are reading. However, according to some recent research, colorful images and violent scene performed on digital devices distract adolescents from their work or study, posing a threat to the development of children. Moreover, through the process of reading, intense attention is advantageous for people to revise knowledge and give careful thoughts to the ideas in the book, which generally creates some soft skills such as critical thinking.

It is undeniable that reading could assure the effectiveness and efficiency of the brain’s work.

To specify, provided they are written with care and passion, the books give young generation not only the imagination, but also the inspiration for purposeful life conveyed by emotional words. Some scientists have stated that more cells, which help the brain and body function properly, are required when reading than watching television or surfing the Internet. Thus, reading helps delaying cognitive decline when getting old, a common health problem these days due to access to modern gadgets.

In short, I firmly believe that reading possesses a number or merits for the development of children as mentioned above. Therefore, young people should be encouraged to engross themselves in paper reading by adults, especially in the period of technology domination.