Some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Schools have always been regarded as a place where the younger generation can gain new knowledge and increase employability. As far as I am concerned, academic courses are of great importance, but it will still be hard for students to succeed in their working lives if they cannot tell the distinctions between right and wrong.

It is understandable that many teachers would argue that attention should be paid to core subjects as these courses determine whether students can enter university successfully. In addition, academic courses can help build a firm grounding for university study and are essential for students to find a decent job. For example, if children can acquire great mathematical skills in middle school, they would be able to build models to analyse data in university and become a financial analysts or engineers in the future. On the contrary, if they are required to spend time on learning moral principles and codes of behaviours, they may not lay as much emphasis as they should on those core subjects.

However, imparting important virtues into students cannot be ignored as well, which enables students to make the most of knowledge the gained and become a contributing member of the society. For instance, one with loyalty would never sell confidential documents of his company to competitors. And an engineer with social responsibility would design products that can be safely used. By contrast, a student can hardly achieve success if he does not have a moral compass, even if he perform well in exams at school.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that only students who can distinguish right from wrong can succeed. Students should respect their teachers, develop a harmony relationship with classmates at school. If such problems are not realized, they would not only have an adverse effect on youngsters’ study, but also their future career.