Some people think schools should only teach students academic subjects. Others think schools should also teach students how to discriminate between right and wrong. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a debate among the people whether the schools should merely be regarded as a teaching place only or a combination of both study and other curricular activities. Personally I believe that a school is a more vast place. A school has the duty of teaching the student about their academic task and make them internally qualified enough to choose the right option as well.

The main purpose of a school is obviously to educate the students and many people carry this belief in their mind that this is the one and only function of the school. In their point of view, they believe that the guardian is always there with the student to teach them about the other social norms and it is not the duty of the school to spend time regarding this. For instance, a learner's guardian may not be educated enough to teach their children though they have the etiquette and manners in themselves. So, they only demand the proper education for their children from the school and hence school is only being treated as a place of learning to them.

On the other hand, some other communities suppose that an academic institute is a field of learning, playing, entertainment and a place for building their child as a complete human being. From their perception, though the prior task of a school is to teach the pupil, it is necessary for them to guide the student about the making of the right choice. For example, if a learner gets confused about selecting a subject, it is the responsibility of the institute to help the student to get rid of that. Moreover, by this process, it is also the liability of the school to prepare the student effectively to distinguish between good and bad and make the right decision in their future life. Thus, a person can be both educated and wise with help from their respective school.

To conclude, the responsibilities of a school varies from person to person. But from my side, it is a place where a learner meets a variety of people who influenced him or her in leading life and it is the duty of the school to help the student to take the fair one from them while teaching them the academic subject as well.