Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Few people hold the idea that, in districts, rewards should be entitled to only those students, who show the best results. Whilst, others disagree and say that, rewarding those pupils, who show some improvement in results is more significant. Personally, I believe that incentives should be given to students on improvement. this essay will discuss both the views in the forthcoming paragraph, followed by the reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, there are several rationales to justify this argument. On the first hand, by rewarding those learners, who shows improvement will facilitate their interest further in that subject, thus giving them intrinsic satisfaction, hence such students will try to produce more good results. For instance, according to a survey conducted at oxford university, it is stated that students who are rewarded for showing some improvement, give them a sense of meaningfulness and achievement, hence, they consequently try to compete for those who are on the top. Secondly, it is a kind of positive reinforcement, and a scale which boost the confidence of weaker student, thus motivating him to achieve more.

however, on the contrary, those who oppose this say that reward should be dedicated to only those students who are on the top, as it is their right to get something for working hard. Furthermore, this will boost their self-esteem, hence, allowing them to think outside of the box and to be more creative. however, I believe that by rewarding only toppers will raise discouragement in other students, showing some kind of improvement, as they may see improvement, as of no use.

To conclude, although, students should be rewarded for the best grades, however, I believe, it is more important to acknowledge those students, who show some kind of improvement, as this will lead them to further improvements.