Some people think that schools should teach/enroll students according to their academic abilities, while others believe that it is better to have students with different abilities/skills studying together. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is a widespread perception that students should be grouped and taught based on their levels of academic aptitudes. Meanwhile, other people are of the opinion that a mixed-level educational system would be more effective. From my perspective, both views have their own merits and deserve thorough scrutiny.

There are various reasons why streaming in education is considered a favorable approach. It is true that a blend between students of different levels and abilities can make gifted students feel demotivated and frustrated. The reason is that high-achieving learners are capable of absorbing information more quickly compared to their low-attaining counterparts. It means that high achievers’ pace of learning will be stagnated if they have to wait for the less intelligent ones to understand the same amount of knowledge. Another justification is that attainment groupings could save time for teachers. The truth is that in multiple-level classes, teachers have to spend much time preparing extra materials and lessons that are geared to the needs of individual students. What is more, without much disparity in students’ academic competence, educators can make the best use of their teaching resources and pedagogical methods. For this reason, a tracking program would prove to be useful in spurring learners’ intellectual growth.

On the other hand, there are those who maintain that a non-grouped setting could be a more preferred learning environment for pupils. One possible reason for their argument is that ability grouping might engender inferiority complex among underperforming tracks who may self-label themselves as “nerdy groups”. This would significantly undermine their self-esteem, subsequently leading to indiscipline, disruptive behavior or even truancy. It should also be noted that teachers of lower streams have low expectations towards the students’ learning outcomes, thereby not providing them with adequate challenge to push forward in their academic careers. As a result, students’ academic performance could be severely impacted. At the same time, if low-achieving pupils are given opportunities to learn with smarter ones, they will try their best in order not to lag behind, which in turn benefit their progression.

In sum, for the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that a multiple-level training program could bring about more positive outcomes than a phasing one. The mixture of students of varying academic abilities could therefore enhance schooling quality.