These days, more fathers stay at home and take care of their children while mothers go out to work. What could be the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today’s world, whilst more mothers engage in formal paid work, an increasing number of fathers stay at home and take responsibility for child-caring. This trend is attributed to a multitude of factors, and it has both merits and demerits in equal measures.

There are numerous reasons why more men become caregivers and women become breadwinners, one of which is the effect of women’s movements that have been taken place for years. This means that the empowerment and gender equity have enabled females to enter the labor force, providing them opportunities for personal and professional growth. What is more, some occupations require high level of cleverness and patience, which can be found in female workers rather than their male counterparts. For this reason, in certain work positions, women are more preferred. Another justification is that many fathers desire to stay at home so that they can spend more time with their offspring, hoping that they can experience the life of a homemaker, not the role of a financial provider as usual.

The above-mentioned demographic shift, however, has both beneficial and detrimental impacts. On the positive side, working mothers can act as a role model for their children. It is true that the participation in workforce might allow women to connect with different people from diverse backgrounds, helping them broaden social relationships and accumulate hands-on experience. This would therefore boost their self-esteem and enhance maternal upbringing. It should also be noted that when staying at home, doing household chores and looking after their children, fathers can not only strengthen the bonding with their kids but can also better understand and sympathize with their wife. On the flip side, if the fathers are traditional and conservative, he may self-label as burden for his wife, and show resentment to her. Also, some are not good at housework or child-rearing, so they could end up messing up their homes.

In sum, there are various contributors to the situation in which fathers stay at home and mothers go to work. This phenomenon however would bring about not only upsides but also downsides.