Nowadays, there is a trend that reports of media focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive development. Some people think it is harmful to individuals and to society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views about the impacts of media reports on an individual and societal level. While I accept that media coverage regarding problems and urgent issues is inevitable, I still believe that it is posing a major threat to the society and its citizens.

On the one hand, there are a number of reasons why bad news should not be excluded from media reports. In the first place, the news media could convey thought-provoking messages to its audience by reflecting the status quo of the society in which people are living. These messages may act as warning signals about the potential dangers people may be faced with, thus making them behave or act in more cautious ways. For example, the exposure to regular reports on collision or pileup could help traffic participants raise their awareness about safe driving. This is justifiable as viewers are supposed to be reflective, not passive absorbing the information broadcasted on the mass media. Another justification is that the media reports on emergencies could save lives and reduce casualties. Thanks to the information sent through news media, the authorities could organize evacuation and distribute aid to the needy areas when it is necessary.

On the other hand, sensational news proves to be detrimental when it comes to the audiences' emotions and perceptions towards life. It is true that people are often obsessed with negative news such as terrorism attack, homicides, pandemic or natural calamities. Hence, the news media might take advantage of these preferences to create bad, even shocking and distorted reports in order to draw the attention of the audiences and achieve higher subscription and ratings. This ends up causing panic among the general public as they will become increasingly suspicious and pessimistic about their contemporary society. For these reasons, the excessive reports on negative issues are likely to bring about deleterious implications.

In sum, news media plays a pivotal role in keeping people informed by providing them up-to-the-minute information, and this has been widely acknowledged. Still, I am of the belief that media reports’ focus on negative rather than positive aspects of life could do more harm than good to both individuals and society.