Some people think sending criminals to prison is not an effective way to deal with them. Education and training are better. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent, it is argued having education and training for criminals is more effective to handle them rather than put them behind bars. Personally, I completely agree that prisoners gain more benefits by going through the process of learning and job training.

There are two main reasons why authorities tend to imprison people who commit an offence. One reason is that some criminals pose a threat to society. Therefore, they are put in prison to ensure the safety of other citizens. Furthermore, being isolated and separated from the community helps them reflect on their choices and their life. Thus, when they are released, they will have proper thinking about what to do and what not to. Take the actor who plays the iconic superhero figure, Iron Man, for example, he has served jail time for multiple drug-related charges but then, when he was out, he took part in several drug treatment programs since he had thought about his decisions while he was in jail. After that, he enjoyed a comeback and starred in several blockbuster films.

Apart from the practical benefits expressed above, I believe that everyone should be given a second chance to rethink their actions until they realize it and fix it. Because of this, convicts should receive education and vocational training so that they can learn personal skills and specific job skills to improve themselves. Since punishments and prisons could make criminals' behaviour worse, rehabilitation aims to make them better citizens. It is also seen that rehabilitated prisoners are less likely to re-offend.

In conclusion, for the reasons I mentioned above, I strongly believe that governments should consider offering offenders formal schooling and training programs to reform them.