Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is a well-established fact that there are various ways of upbringing the children. Some people say children should be raised up with a competitive spirit while the others argue that the fondness of group-working can help them grow up to be fully functioning adults, whom will be able to contribute to the society. In my opinion, these two views are not contradictory and both are required traits of a child.

On one hand, a kid who loves to compete can be self-motivated to put a tremendous amount of effort for the purpose of achieving the highest prize and praises from parents, friends, teachers, etc., thus hones personal skills and intellect. Furthermore, even when they have failed clearly, some of these kids who are strong-willed will just look for any other means that ensure they will not repeat previous mistakes and never fail again. Those aforementioned characters are undeniably important in a highly competitive world which is full of cutthroat businesses and may grant them a successful career and an affluent life. But the passion for the contest must also come with a sense of fairness and self-control. Without these characters, these youngsters, in order to defeat other competitors, regardless of the cost, may resort to immoral methods such as cheating or pulling others down. In short, parents better encourage positive competition among children and teach them to where to draw the line.

On the other hand, because human always lives as groups, not as unrelated individuals, collaboration has been always much more beneficial than being a lone wolf in most situations. If a child is taught to be a team player at early ages, when grow up, he or she can be quite efficient at team work and learn how to respect others' opinions. Additionally, it is also the key for them to develop crucial interpersonal skills which play an indispensable role in their study and prospective's job. For example, a number of large enterprises nowadays ask for candidates with the ability of actively collaborating with colleagues and the superiors. Yet a little ambition and eagerness for competition could be useful for these team players by driving themselves to become a notable member of a team and never be made redundant.

My conclusion is that both cooperation and competitiveness are essential parts for children in their own place. The parents ought to foster those characters and other essential ones as well in their children to make sure that they can contribute to the society when reach the majority.