Some people think that a sense of competition in children should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is socially believed that for children to excell they should have competitors; therefore, it is encouraged to do so. On the other hand, others feels that allowing children to compete will result in behavioural drawbacks later in life, whereas obedience should be emphasised. This essay will discuss the benefits of competition as a form of motivation and highlight relevant scenarios.

Firstly, life has its setbacks. Resilience is one of the optimum thing that we should encourage our children to possess for them to achieve greatness. For example, when I was part of school quiz club we lost the show on the first round then the quiz master encourage us to read and practise to fight our competitors. That encouragement to compete gave us strenght to research more and on the next competition our team won resoundingly.

Secondly, peer pressure affect children. It is useful if its positive. For example, a group of well behaved children can teamup and encourage one bad egg to reform and do good for the sake of positive complements others are getting, as the child will be fighting to be a good child and to be praised above others.

Furthermore, Maslow's hierachy of needs is also another form of competition, as one strive to go the next level, therefore hardwork is evitable to greatness. For example a child can workhard during exams to be the best student at the end of the term as it produces self gratification and recognition by the society.

Despite, the positives that competion brings in child's life, if its over emphasised it can develop into Idi personality disorder. It can lead to notorius adults who can do anything just to be on top for the sake of competion. For instance, I was talking to a robber whom I came across; asking him how he came to be a robber and was shocked by his answer as he told me that he wanted to accumulate wealth and be rich like founder of Econet in Zimbabwe.

In my own opinion, I believe a sense of competition should be instilled in our children but not over emphasised. It produces positive results and desireable behaviours and few drawbacks. It was through competition that everyone in our school days aimed for top positions in class to have self gratification and be parents' most lovable child.