Some people think that social skills are as important as academic qualifications. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a heated debate on whether social skills play a pivotal role as academic qualifications do in one’s success. From my perspective, I am in favor of the idea and my reasons are as follows.

Admittedly, educational certificate is a must because it shows one’s academic background and professional experience in a certain field. It is a common process of employment to first seek a candidate with equivalent degree to the job requirement before the employer sets up an interview. With the globalization nowadays, some global companies require one with certain level of diploma, and as their initial judgment when there is no other references available. For example, my younger brother has applied for a job with an excellent engineering degree in IT, and he now got accepted to work for an international IT corporation in Japan for three years.

However, to climb a career ladder, one can not only be a master in the field but also needs some social skills to cope with problems at work. A person with sophisticated communication skills is able to comfort his or her colleagues, and is conscious enough to avoid the misunderstandings in the workplace. Furthermore, problem-solving skill is extremely useful when the conflicts happen. By contrast, if people do not know how to get along well with the others at work, they may experience a severe stress and anxiety. Having said that, social skills enrich their lives and give them best opportunities to face with any challenge at work.

In conclusion, although academic background is an unquestionable condition for people to find lucrative jobs, social skills are of great importance in their success.