Some people think teaching children with different abilities benefits everyone while other think intelligent should be taught separately and given special treatment. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Whether schools should arrange their classrooms by student’s abilities or not sparks a hot debate in modern society. While some people believe it is necessary to group children in attempt to boost their talents, others stand for opposite view. In my opinion, although ability grouping has some significant merits, mixed class brings greater benefits.

On the one hand, there is a host of reasons why special treatments and study programs should be established for gifted children. First of all, at a group-ability class, student might find easier to move at their own pace. For example, when students are grouped together based on skill level, they have more time to move forward and progress at faster pace and possibly pursue more complex topics. Secondly, the challenges in this type of class might promote children’s ability due to the surrounding of other like-mined people. As a result, they continue to be motivated throughout the academic year without having to lose momentum while other students are still catching up.

On the other hand, I argue that we should not underestimate the importance of mixed class. This type of class provides students an opportunity to accept, discuss and listen to other diverse perspectives. For example, advanced students might experience the satisfaction of help less-able learners which results in confidence and excellent team building skills. Moreover, mix class avoids a situation in which children being labeled by unexpected titles such as nerd group or lower group. This can lead to the bullying and harassment in schools. The likelihood of individuals who followed a mixed class achieving confidence and self-esteem is incredibly higher than those who learnt in a group ability class.

In conclusion, despite the fact that there are some benefits gained by divided class due to ability level, I am of the opinion that mix class allows greater advantages for children.