Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake regardless of wether the course

It is socially believed that tertiary institution should offer students with theoretical and practical skills required in the business world, while others argue that the university should focus on theory, even if it is not important to the prospective employer. Knowledge is power, without sufficient practical and theoretical know how one is doomed, therefore this essay agrees that the university should incorporate both practical and theory to produce well equiped prospective professionals.

Acquiring theoretical skills merely is not sufficient, therefore, possessing both practical and theoretical is of paramount importance. For example, in medical school the university teach students about the anatomy of a human being. It is not enough to learn only from the book, as one will be dealing with a live person, therefore a need to examine the real person is crucial. It also helps not to misdiagnose the patients when they qualify and become doctors.

Furthermore, it is always said, " experience is the best teacher." The possibility of gaining experience is through learning. In an organisation, you can not only talk of theory but they also need practical experience. During interviews potential employers often ask candidates about theoretical knowledge of the nature of the job as well as work experience. For instance, my brother attended an interview with a multinational company and there were five interviwees. He occupied second position in that interview, surprisingly they hired him and he was told plainly that, " we hired you because you have knowledge in both practical and theory compared to your competitor who possess theoretical knowledge only.

In addition, season professional who are well vexed with the business world comes from the best tertiary institution. The candidates who are preffered for the job vacancy are from those colleges which incorporate both knowledge. For example, after completing my course. I got employed at a certain company and the manager told me frankly that he prefers candidates from my training school as we are competent, comparing to others from a certain university who have only theoretical skills.

However, the university is meant to provide students with theoretical knowledge. It is a duty for the company to train their employees their day to day running of the business. The college might not have enough time to tackle both theory and practical as it is time comsuming and it also increase financial burden to the candidate or guardian due to extension of the course.

In my own perspective, tertiary institutions should focus on both skills, inspite of the drawbacks which comes with the course to accomplish it. The main crucial thing for the college should be to produce competent and seasoned professionals who are well equiped with both knowledge and skills as well as being useful to the industry.