Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later. Some say that these are the best people to talk to school students about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a common belief that students should be educated about the consequences of committing crimes by ex-prisoners. However, I firmly believe that these people are not suitable for teaching students in this field.

Let ex-prisoners tell students about the results of doing illegal actions can cause detrimental effects to them. To begin with, it can be risky due to the high chances of recommitting crime of people who have been in prison. According to the New York Times, 47% of ex-prisoners still commit crimes after they are released. Because of this reason, many people do not believe in ex-prisoners and they will not allow their children to listen to the speech. For example, teachers often tell students not to interact with ex-prisoners even though they have become good people. Students can copy their bad habits and then become criminals in the future.

Moreover, there are many methods to teach students about the dangers of committing a crime. School can cooperate with police to raise awareness of students. Compared with ex-prisoners, police are more trustworthy and they are trained to capture criminals, so they would have a better knowledge about laws, rules, or policies. Furthermore, parents, and teachers also play an important role in raising the awareness of students about crime. For instant, they can add moral lessons in the class, and create a positive education environment in order to contributing to crime prevention.

In conclusion, students should not be taught about crime by ex-prisoners, otherwise, schools and parents can use others teaching method to raise awareness of students for not committing crime in the futre.