Some say that people living in high-rise apartments are lonely and unhappy, while others say that it’s advantageous to stay in high-rise apartments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

it is true that nowadays, more and more people choose to live in the skyscrapers instead of traditional construction on the ground. However, whether this tendency has positive or negative impacts is still an ongoing debate. While there are certain advantages regarding to this matter, I am in the opinion that it might rise many drawbacks in the long-term.

On one hand, people who live in luxurious tall buildings are provided with high-end facilities such as swimming pools, sport centers, supermarkets,... in one complex. Furthermore, with little annual management fee, the residents don't have to go anywhere because everything they need is available within footsteps. More important, those who can afford their own apartments, usually belong to mid or high class in society, therefore, it invisibly create the comfort feelings that there won't be any criminals around them. Thus, every floors and gates are secured with surveillances and 24/7 securities to prevent any strangers who has bad intentions or trying to commit crimes.

On the other hand, the disadvantages on this matter are also varied. it is very common that the youngsters living alone and hardly anybody knows much about their neighbourhood next door. Sadness and loneliness might highly be their companionship behind the walls. Besides, there are more serious problems arise from buildings system. To be frank, a small flame can easily happen in the basement then rapidly engulf the whole tower within hours due to lack of fire safety system. Hundred of lives are placed at risk because not all residents prepared with good knowledge or tools for emergency evacuation. For example, the newspaper has reported many deaths in the fire of Carina apartments in Ho Chi Minh city. Additionally, the concerns of sexual harassment in the elevators have been risen, which cast doubts on decisions of purchasing a house in these accommodations.

In conclusion, the merits of being an inhabitant in modern apartments have been clearly listed as above, I believe the drawbacks are greater regarding the matter.