In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

The majority of people in different parts of the globe still have to deal with hunger despite the significant advancement being made in the field of agriculture. Although there are specific root causes behind this phenomenon, effective policies can be adopted to remedy the situation.

There are two causative factors which account for the prevalence of hunger. Firstly, the loss of crops would be the main inducement of such a crisis. That is, regardless of cutting-edge technologies employed in modern horticulture, extreme climate in some areas would ruin the harvests. For instance, almost every year too much precipitation in the north of Iran lead la to flood which causes physical damage to crop plants in the paddy fields. Secondly, the world population is growing on an unprecedented space which means keeping pace with the growing demand for food is more difficult than ever. In other words, even though there have been noticeable improvements in crop cultivation and harvesting, demand continues to outweigh supply.

There are, however, some workable solution to overcome the trends mentioned above. One step would be production of genetically modified food crops which can be resistant to harsh conditions. Another viable alternative is for government to control the growth of population by encouraging mothers to limit their childbearing. This can be done by making contraceptives, such as birth control pills‌, publicly available for free.

In conclusion, people throughout the world are still afflicted by hunger because of fast-growing population as well as natural disasters. Despite all the contributing factors, proper population-growth measures implemented by the government, coupled with the use of genetic engineering methods for producing resistant plans can reduce the severity of this issue considerably.