In spite of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry. Why is this the case? What can be done about this problem?

In this modern society, there have been significant breakthroughs in almost every aspect of life, and agriculture, therefore, is no exception and has considerably developed over the past few decades. However, starvation is still among one of the most popular problems in many parts of the world despite such development. This essay will outline several reasons for this issue and propose some possible solutions.

To begin with, there are a host of factors contributing to the widespread occurrence of malnutrition. Firstly, modern practices and methods in agriculture have led to the appearance of top-quality types of meat and vegetables, but they will be too costly for the vast majority. Furthermore, the products from farmers' fields do not come to customers' hands directly, but via various agents, so the overall cost will be much higher than the original. Another reason is that the amount of food produced is unmatched by the level of population growth. The 21st century witnesses an astonishing rise in population worldwide, and our agriculture has not fully developed to meet such incredible demands. Consequently, in countries which are over-populated such as India, more and more people are lacking food to survive.

Turning to the ways to overcome this problem, a possible initiative is that governments should enact laws which require a stable price for certain kinds of food. This will ensure that agricultural products are offered at a reasonable cost, thus increasing their availability to everyone. Shops or traders trying to make a profit by overpricing should be heavily fined and banned from the market for a certain amount of time so as to remind others of properly following the rules. What is more, the population boom should be strictly controlled so as to guarantee people's standards of living. In simpler terms, fewer people tend to put less of a strain on all resources, including food, and it is also easier to help them improve life quality, which means starvation is not likely to be as popular as it is now if we succeed to carry out this proposal.

To sum up, that many people don't have enough food is caused by a complex variety of reasons. Tackling the problem does require a lot of efforts of both governments and individuals, but when we truly focus on solving it and give it our best shot, I believe the issue will no longer be a serious one in the future.