Spoken communication is more powerful than written communication. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People have different views of whether oral communication is more effective than correspondence or not. Personally, deciding which one is more powerful than the other one relies on certain circumstances.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why I suppose spoken transmittion is a powerful tool. When it comes to the situation requiring body language and facial expression, spoken language is much better than written one. Because it enables the speakers to convey not only information but also their tone and emtion. As a result, the listeners will be prone to be easily persuaded and receptive. Take the advertiments and product marketing as an example, the public will have tendecy to be deeply impressed and persuasive by the enthusiam and promises of marketing staff, rather than just read a product description on screen in the Internet.

On the other hand, it is rational for me to say that written forms should be prioritized over the oral one. Admittedly, spoken transmittion is extremely time-saving and convenient. However, this types communication cannot be used in law and business. In fact, signing a business contract, which is legal agreement between two or more parties ivolving in, must use written forms to ensure that all participants have to comply with the regulations and keep their promises. In addition, correspondence forms hold real and convincing attribute. Therefore, it can be used as a valid evidence when conflicts arise.

In conclusion, it seems to me that both kinds of communication are absolutely essential. In some cases, oral communication is more effective due to full conveying of both information and emtion, but there are some situations written is preferable.