Studies have suggested that nowadays children watch much more television than they did in the past and spend less time on active or creative things. What are the reasons and what measures should be taken to encourage children to spend more time on active

It is true that today kids prefer to watch television than to do more creative activities. In this essay, I will discuss about the reasons of this addressed situation and alternatives that may be taken in order to increase children's interest to those activities.

There are two reasons for this kind of situation. Firstly, children nowadays live in the era where technology has developed faster than before. This has caused the technology gadgets to be more sophisticated, including television (abbreviated as TV). Previously, TV could only showed a very few channels that aired from TV stations, and not all of those are intended for children. But now, TV is a very sophisticated gadget, where it does not only airs the TV channels from TV stations, but also can play the YouTube videos. As we know, YouTube is a very popular video website that has a lot of show varieties including those for kids. This result to the increase of children's interest in watching TV. Rather than doing something creative or active, children choose to watch TV because it now has too many show varieties for children. Secondly, children usually do something that their neighborhood does, because it is children's common habit to imitate. Many children loves playing basketball because their peers also loves playing it. So if other children in their schools also like watching TV and dislike doing creative activities, they will also do it.

To overcome these problems, there are some alternatives that we can take. Firstly, related to the rapid development of TV, parents should have more control over TV. As a parents, we have to oversee our children and direct our kids to do something positive. Although TV now has more functions that before, if we can be children's friends and accompanying them to do active things together, of course children will leave those TVs. Secondly, about the children's environments that have big impacts to children's habits. If previously children only meet their friends who love watching television more than doing exercises, now we should enroll our kids to other positive communities. For example, by registering our kids to baseball club or swimming club, so that our children will be used to doing those activities, instead of just spending their time in sofas watching TV for entire day.

In conclusion, there are some reasons behind the increase of TV usage among children that causes the decrease of their doing of active and creative things, that can be solved with some alternatives, including accompanying and directing kids to do more positive things and also registering our kids to more positive communities.