Studies suggest that children spend more time watching TV than they did in the past and they spend less time in doing active or creative things What are the causes and what methods can be used to solve the problem

According to recent scientific studies, TV programs attract more attention of children than active or creative activities in the contemporary life than before. Various aspects of factors will have significant influence on the trend and we could take lots of measures to tackle the problem.

The phenomenon results from not only the more and more interesting and fascinating TV programs but also several harmful adjustments of family, community and government. To begin with, the tendency of converting joint families to nuclear ones, detaching kids from their cousins and grandparents. More seriously, China has implied one-child policy for a long period. As a result, Children don’t have playmates after school. The only thing he could do is sitting in the soft sofa, watching TV and eating junk food. As for community, the feeling of common belongings decreases sharply among the neighborhood in the big cities in these years. Many residents have no ideas about their neighbors. On the side of city planning, parents realize it’s difficult to find a safe and comfortable public area for children, which makes them lock their children in ‘safe’ homes.

Luckily, in face of the serious background, there are still a number of effective solutions to cope with the problem. Firstly, parents could allocate more time to company their children, such as playing games together, taking kids to museums or parks on the weekends or have a short trip to the countryside or mountains. Secondly, schools are supposed to open playgrounds or gyms to kids so that they can have fun with their classmates. Thirdly, the community could set up a residents’ committee, organizing activities or events. For instance, children can apply for being a volunteer to help old people in nursing homes or attend a chorus for local church.

After having discussed the most pertinent points about this issue, I’m convinced that not only parents but also schools, communities and governments could take actions to improve the condition with the unpredictive development and changes in our daily life.