Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person.

Why do you think this is the case?

What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person?

There is much research that has shown that adolescents love socializing on the internet rather than offline meetings. There are two reasons: the fear of judgment and some positive characteristics of the internet which cause this problem and that should be tackled by certain government and community support.

Being easily vulnerable to assessment may prevent the youth from having a face-to-face conversation. At the time of puberty, young people are inevitably more sensitive than others. They, therefore; create virtual images to hide their real identities to avoid criticizing their imperfections as well as appearances. Furthermore, not only can people relieve stress but also can they express their opinions without taking consequences when using social media. For instance, it can be usually seen that many people with anonymous names comment their thoughts on Facebook posts. Another reason is that it is more convenient and easier to have a conversation online than to set a real date. Thank the internet, people do not have to worry about fashions and locations because they just interact through devices' screens.

Nonetheless, depending on socializing on the network too much is a red alert since it will affect young citizens negatively. For example, overusing social media is proven to subside their soft skills. For the aforementioned reasons, actions need to be taken to encourage the young ones to head-to-head chatting. Firstly, one measure that can be taken into consideration is organizing more free public events attracting people supported by the government. Secondly, society can be less strict on individual ideas and style. In the other words, old generations should be welcoming and open-minded to younger generations.

To sum up, there are no doubts about the advantages of the internet that impress young people. Yet, people need to maintain real lives to balance and with the help of the government and the crowd, I believe this phenomenon can partially somehow be solved.