Surveys show that people are living longer in many countries. But increased life expectancy has many implications for individual and for society as a whole. What are the effects of longer living for individuals and society.

According to the research, people tend to have a longer lifespan in different parts of world. This trend implicates individual and social effects that we can learn from. Some potential impacts might be caused and they can be positive and negative.

It is undeniable that the prolonged lifespan reflects a better quality of life due to modernized technology. People have benefited from advanced living environment and easier access to healthcare than ever before, which makes it possible for them to live longer. With relevant government policies and volunteering support, low-class citizens can enjoy equally great public services with abundant subsidies. All these preconditions put a solid foundation of a longer life that people can live.

On the one hand, the increase of life expectancy would lead to more public concerns about life caring in people’s later years. As people grow older, the proportion of social resources would be less sufficient to meet all livers’ needs, which would probably pose a huge pressure to local governments. Apart from that, current scientific results and serving system may probably not cover all aspects of wider health problems and personal issues. As people live longer, there would be no suitable medications and treatments when they become paralyzed, not to mention whether or not they would die at home without anyone knowing it.

On the other hand, the older employable age may bring continuous profits for companies working on diverse fields. One reason is that elder people would probably be more experienced and sophisticated of these jobs and could provide sensible advice to younger workers. In this case, they would be able to contribute to our community and personal firms by playing a consulting role. This would also compensate the insufficiency of young workers by using aged and experienced people.