Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It is generally claimed that the main group of museums or historical sites visitors are tourists, but not local people. This essay will examine the cause of this occurrence as well as discuss a possible approach to urge more local people to visit these places.

Exhibitions being monotonous is a primary cause of this case. The vast majority of local people must already visit the museum or the historical sites in their area; the exhibitions in these places are kept intact and unchanged. As the result, the local people will surely have no interest to explore the museum where they have already viewed all exhibitions before. On the other hand, numerous tourists never having come before are curious and enthusiastic to appreciate these unseen exhibitions. Thus, as the number of new tourists increase yearly, but the number of local people remain steady. This is the reason why this case comes about.

Holding more special events and workshop sessions are the best solution. The museums or the historical sites should keep changing the theme or opening a workshop that allows people to partake. Consequently, these will not only stimulate more attention from the substantial number of tourists but also bolster the local visitor's rate. For instance, according to my volunteer experience as a front desk at the Maritime Museum in Victoria, BC, I discovered that weekly workshop sessions can attract the number of local people to visit the museum. Evidently, over 80 % of workshop participants are the local people.

To conclude, the administrators of the museum and other historical sites should apply the interesting event to the schedule in order to capture visitors’ interest and attention. I firmly believe that if they follow this method, the rate of both tourists and local visitors will definitely grow.