Task 2: Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people. Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places?

It’s true that the amount of people visiting public art sites or relics are more than the people from local areas. There could be several reasons why this is the case, and I believe that if some appropriate measures could be introduced, there would have been more local habitants get involved.

There are various reasons why local people choose to visit other scenic spots other than the ones from their hometowns. As for the administrations of museums or others historical reserves, their responsibilities are not only to display the array of valuable treasures, but also to make then to be well know by the public. People who living in the cities are the most like to visit those distinguished places, if enough relevant information given. It’s quite understandable that people are prone to travel to a variety of areas or nations, to gain fresh experience and broaden their eyesight. In addition, born and raised at the same place, there’s not much motivation to explore where people are already completely familiar with, at least most of them prefer to speculate like that.

In my view, comparing to attract tourists visiting local museum, it’s much easier to people live around. Firstly, the municipal governments should hold some public events to propel the continuing attention to local touring spots. It’s the best opportunity to propagate the local projects related to art, culture and history during the events like municipal anniversary celebration. Secondly, holding small-scale of activities within communities about local history could also encourage people to go to visit. Finally, teachers at schools or universities could arise the students’ interests by organising them to wander into the museums in person.

In conclusion, although to attract more people to participate in the local cultural or historical events is challenging, we could solve this public issue well through an all-round joint effort.