Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport.

Disuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

In modern times, the issue of improving transporting systems has become highly controversial. There are those who say that it is compulsory to invest money on new railway lines for fast trains, however others believe that the economic sources should be used for making public transport better. In this essay, I will examine the both sides of this argument and provide my overall opinion.

Generally speaking, there are two main reasons why people believe that it is important to spend money on improving rails for fast trains. Perhaps, the most notable one is that fast trains are very comfortable. It has wide space for travellers to move and it is pretty quite inside of the train during travel. If a traveller prefers to travel by fast train, he or she will never choose another transport sytems because of fast trains' speed and comfortable area. Furthermore, another reason for this idea is that fast trains are safe to travel. A good illustration of this is that a research project which was completed by Ankara University academics. The research showed that the chance of accident is 0.2% for plane, 0.5% for bus, 0.4% automobiles and 0.1% for fast trains.

Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that economic resources should be used for improving public transport. Firstly, fast trains and their special railway lines are too expensive, so every country can not afford these. Instead of spending money on fast trains, we should improve our public transport and purchase new vehicles such as buses, trams or tubes. Secondly, people in the rural area are not concious and aware of how dangerous is fast trains. As a result of this, it is not safe to to build railway lines and purchasing fast trains. If a person who has not information about fast trains tries to cross the railway, he or she can die because of the speed of train. Normally, fast trains are able to reach to over 600km/h.

In conclusion, improving transporting systems is a complex issue with no easy solutions. Having considered both sides of the issue, I quite strongly believe that it is compulsory to spend large amounts of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. If governments implement policies about fast trains and invest the money on it, there will be less dead because of traffic accidents. Additionally, fast trains are the safest way to travel.