Technology is becoming increasingly prevalent in the world today. In the

not too distant future, technology will completely replace the teacher in the

classroom. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The use of technology is increasing rapidly in the modern world. Growing technological influence can even be seen in the classroom. Despite this, I disagree that technology will completely replace human teachers in the foreseeable future. Analyzing

the inability of a technology-driven teacher to both cater to student learning needs

and instill motivation will show this.

Firstly, a teacher powered by artificial intelligence would have difficulty interpreting the educational needs of a classroom of students. For example, Honda Asimov, one of the world’s most advanced robots, has trouble distinguishing simple human

emotions. If today’s most advanced artificial intelligence cannot categorize these

basic physical cues, it is difficult to believe that a robot could be capable of altering

study plans and teaching styles in a dynamic classroom setting. Thus, this makes it

clear that a technology-driven teacher is not going to be operational anytime in the

near future.

Secondly, a robotic teacher would not be able to establish the emotional connection

needed to motivate students. The American scientific theory of education plays

a good example here. This widely supported theory argues that young learners are

most motivated when they share an emotional relationship with their instructor. As

most would agree expecting children to form emotional ties to machinery is unrealistic,

the argument that technology will replace the teacher in the classroom can be debunked.

In summary, a robotic teacher would lack the classroom dynamism and emotional

intelligence needed to be an effective instructor. Thus, it is clear why having a class

run entirely by a machine is an idea that will not be realized anytime soon. As this

essay has shown, computer technology will not replace traditional human teachers

in the foreseeable future.