The tendency of human beings to copy one another is shown in the popularity of areas such as fashion and consumer goods. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed by some that people often tend to follow and copy from others, particularly in fashion and consumer goods areas. In my opinion, this is a valid view considering the behaviour of individuals in the prevailing society.

The tendency of copying from others can often be seen in fashion, at present society and also throughout the history. Fashion often can be associated with the popularity and the word 'fashion' itself has a hidden meaning of copying what the majority do at a particular community. One of the major reasons to evolve fashion trends is that people like to get the attraction of the society or they might want to represent a particular group in the community. For example, affluent and those who come from high casts follow fashions that are followed by others in the same social group.

In recent years, consumerism has changed the day to day lives of the people to a greater extent. One of the driving factors behind the consumerism can be seen as the people's tendency to copy from others. In other words, for most of the buyers, it is often the case that they buy a particular item not because they really need it, but because most of their friends or neighbours buy it. Sellers' promotions along with the reason explosion in the social media usage have accelerated this trend.

In conclusion, it is a widely known fact that human beings have the habit of imitating others particularly when it comes to fashion and consumer items. As for any other trends, this trend also has both positive and negative effects. I believe people should be wary to not to copy or follow everything they come across, and to choose carefully what best fit for themselves.