Film stars and celebrities often share their views on public matters that have little to do with their profession. Is this a positive or negative development?

Public figures from film and other industries share their opinion regarding public matters even though they possess marginal knowledge about them. In my opinion this is a positive development considering various benefits it may bring to the society.

One of the key benefits from the celebrity involvement in the public matters is that it helps to bring the public attention on pressing problems which require immediate attention of the society. In other words, with the proliferation of the social media platforms, celebrities are able to reach a massive audience almost instantly compared to other information sharing methods such as news on TV or newspapers. Moreover, celebrity endorsement has also proven to be a successful mean for influencing a large number of people.

Moreover, celebrities and stars are able to raise their voice for good against any level of individual or any powerful party, regardless of their power or wealth. In other words, they can stand against corruptions or wrong deeds by political figures, large companies or even the government. This is because being in the public eye means celebrities often get the protection as no one will attempt to stop them through any means of violence. Had any general member of the society tried to stand against a political figure, more often than not, he or she could have been eliminated by violence.

In conclusion, famous figures sharing their point of view on public matters can be seen as a positive trend because they are able to effectively reach out a large audience which could not have been possible otherwise and also because they can stand against unfair situations without being threatened by powerful bodies. However, general public should be careful and should not heavily depend on opinions coming from non-official sources such as film stars.