The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies rather than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Broadcastings in the various source of media these days allegedly have excessive emphasize on nerve-wracking issues as well as worrisome circumstances rather than the hopeful prospects of the modern community. Hence, this trend is believed to be extremely detrimental to each individual as well as the whole society. From my perspective, I find no justification against this belief.

On the one hand, there is irrefutable that negative news reports in the media may have some adverse impacts on each individual. One fundamental hazard is that it may fulfil people with pessimistic thoughts. It does not seem unreasonable to suggest that watching numerous bad news in the long terms may result in creating a terrible and untrue scenario within the audience's mind, thereby attributing to making these miserable people live with the fear of being robbed or murdered. Consequently, having such a stressful life is extremely detrimental to one's psychological well-being. By the way of exemplifying, according to a scientific experiment, the individuals who watched the pessimistic news revealed being progressively on edge and more troubled than those who observed either the positive or unbiased counterparts.

On the other hand, concerning the societal aspects, since those individuals who had watched the pessimistic news invested more energy pondering and their overthinking lead them to be in constant worry, their productivity and striving for work is undoubtedly diminished, which later damage the economy and various other professional fields. An illustration of this is that several people are misinterpreted by the pervasive news about inadequate hygiene victuals then lose faith about restaurants and food stalls, which ultimately lead to the bankruptcy of these businesses. Furthermore, bad news may take responsibility for the loss of confidence in the government, hence, are the major culprit of increasing crime rates.

In conclusion, excessive emphasizing on bad news may result in people living in fear as well as other mental illness due to distress and tension. Meanwhile, they bring pernicious impacts on the economy as well as responsible for the rising in crime rates.