The tendency of news reports in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Social problems and emergencies have been excessively publicized on various social media for decades instead of providing positive developments. While its significant influence can benefit the public in several aspects, this essay agrees that their drawbacks can be more detrimental.

To begin with, the main benefit of approaching social problems and emergencies for people is to develop a sense of security and carefulness, which are essential when confronting to different situations. For instance, by watching criminal trials, people can heighten the awareness of different types of crime such as shoplifters or pickpockets and be more well-prepared towards strangers, who have suspicious activities. Furthermore, news reports are also responsible for delivering environmental issues and natural disasters such as droughts, floods or earthquakes, allowing people to protect themselves from financial loss and physical injuries as well as drawing governments’ attention to these phenomenons.

However, besides its positive influences, the drawbacks should be taken into consideration. First, excessively providing news related to crime or accidents could adversely affect people’s psychological state because they can experience various negative emotions such as anxiety, depression or insecurity. This is illustrated by the fact that those who frequently watch criminal programs are likely to have an unhappy life because they are afraid of being a victim in a crime. Second, this tendency encourages journalists to create bad stories and offer exaggerated news in an attempt to make a profit. Consequently, this has a negative impact on social harmony and stability.

In conclusion, although new reports related to problems and emergencies are being wide-spread to individuals and community, I argue that its negative impacts can be more harmful.