There are many Vietnamese people who claim that we should merge the Solar New Year and the Lunar New Year. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

it has been claimed by some vietnamese people that the solar new year and lunar new year can be combined as one. For me as a vietnamese, I totally disagree with this opinion.

Vietnam is a country that has followed most of its historical traditions, including lunar new year. it has been celebrated through many decades and become part of our life. this is an event that was passed from generation to generation, from an elderly to a baby child. In our culture, the most important celebration in the year to us is the lunar new year. this is a chance that we gather together with our family, friends, and people that we do not have an opportunity to meet during the year. In fact, the solar new year and lunar new year are different in term of celebration and meaning. For example, western people will not have "banh chung" or "banh tet" as a traditional food, but we always have them every year. it would not be a full new year with these foods. In addition, both types of new year represent different cultures, so there is no way that it can merge. during lunar new year, we will show our beliefs in god, in our ancestors, and in our historical traditions. this is a time we represent our thankful for all we have in the past year and our wishes for the next year.

In conclusion, as these are not the same and show different values, there should not be any reason to merge it.