There are more workers to work from home and more students to study from home. This is because computer technology is more and more easily accessible and cheaper.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent years it is far more normal for people to work or study from home thanks to the widespread of the internet and technological developments. In my opinion, this trend could have both positive and negative consequences in equal measure.

The growth of distance learning and teleworking can be seen as positive for both personal and broader economic reasons. On an individual level, people who choose to work or study from home can be more flexible in terms of time management as they do not have to spend long hours on roads in traffic congestion, and they can opt for studying or working at anytime which best suits them. From an economic perspective, this trend will result in a considerable reduction in the overheads covered by the organizations where these people work or study. They no longer have to pay for certain costs such as electricity and water bills. Additionally, there could be a notable decrease in the number of commuters, which will lead to a drop in petrol prices.

However, the personal and economic arguments given above can be considered from the opposite angle. Firstly, rather the convenience of not having to travel long distances every day, people working or studying at home may experience feelings of loneliness and isolation. They miss out on the interpersonal relationships formed through face-to-face interaction with colleagues or classmates. A student, for instance, may find it miserable having no precious memories with his friends during his school years. Secondly, from the financial point of view, the significant rise in the number of internet users is likely to cause internet providers to increase their charges in the interests of stable connection. Consequently, the general population will be faced with rising living costs.

In conclusion, the increase in the number of distance learners and teleworkers could have both beneficial and detrimental impacts on individuals and on the economy.