There has been a dramatic growth in the number of people studying at universities in the last few decades. While some people see this as a positive trend which raises the general level of education within the community, others fear that it is lowering the

In the last 20 years, the number of students attending in universities has been dramatically increased. On one hand, this is a very good development in overall education level. On the other hand, its quality might be lowered because student-per-instructor ratio has been increased. This essay will discuss pros and cons regarding this matter.

Studying and graduating from universities bring benefits students themselves and also their society. By studying in universities, students will get more specialized knowledge based on their interests. This allows them to acquire higher tier jobs, which requires university degree, such as engineers, doctors, or pharmacists. Moreover, these jobs are well paid and should improve the quality of life of people and their spendings should improve economic of their society.

In contrast, too many students in universities might decrease the education quality to some extent. Since the number of students in universities has been increased, a class would be larger, instructors would find it hard to provide in-person guidance or answer emails of all or most students. Furthermore, it could also be inevitable to open more sections of the same course. As a result, instructors might be too tired to keep the lecture quality over the bar and might have less time to improve the quality of the course such as improving course materials or updating with the latest news or discoveries.

In conclusion, having more students in university benefits society in quality of life and economics. However, universities should be aware of the upcoming problems that come along with it and ensure that the quality of education is not being degraded.