In a recent survey conducted in this country it was found that up to 20 of twelve year olds in some schools were showing early signs of nicotine addiction In the eighteen to twenty year age bracket the percentage was as high as 70 A large contributi

Tobacco was once popularized by celebrities and advertisements many years ago. It was consumed by many adults back then; unfortunately, smoking has gain more traction in teenagers in the recent decade. As time passed, research discovered that smoking is unhealthy and is a major cause of many serious diseases. Some people believe that all tobacco related advertisements should be banned. I completely agree with that idea.

Teenagers can be easily draw into smoking. They are less health-conscious than adults because they are mostly healthy and their body are still developing; therefore, they might not be aware of negative effects of nicotine because diseases takes several years to develop into serious symptoms. Furthermore, they are at the age that want more social acceptance, and following the trend or advertisements makes them belong to the group.

Smoking itself does no good to the smokers themselves or surrounding people. It is a major cause of several severe diseases such as lung cancer, respiratory disorder, or cardiovascular. Not only the smokers that are vulnerable to those diseases, secondhand smokers such as family or friends who breathe the smoke as smokers are also vulnerable. More than that, secondhand smoking is more severely harmful because the smoke is not filtered. Recent research also found that thirdhand smokers who indirectly contact nicotine that covers furnitures or garments are also vulnerable; because of that, home is no longer safe for a small baby to crawl around.

In summary, teenagers should be protected from smoking advertisements because they can be easily influenced and they might not be aware of its negative effect. Smoking itself does no good to the smokers or their society. I completely agree that smoking related advertisements must be banned in all kinds of media including but not limited to TV commercials and the Internet banners.