There have been many inventions in human history, such as wheels. Some people think that Internet is the most important invention. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the eye-catching development of modern network technology is encouraging people to put more value on the Internet. Some people argue that the invention of this network is of most important. I firmly agree with the opinion.

The appearance of the Internet is the most important invention because both individuals and companies have been deriving substantial benefits from it. First of all, the existence of this virtual network provides an innovative and rather appealing way for people. For instance, the search engines such as Google and Bing have started a great amount of knowledge in their database, attracting a large number of people to access it every day. In addition, the Internet has significantly improved the way modern businesses are conducted. This is because softwares like Skype and Google Duo have the capability of transmitting live video via the Internet, which effectively shorten the time needed to negotiate or sign an important contract, thereby improving the work efficiency.

Admittedly, opponents of the above views may argue that the Internet also has some drawbacks that may eradicate its benefits. In particular, it is pointed out that the online communicating through the Internet tends to reduce the possibility for people to establish authentic relationships with others, which impairs the development of people’s social skills. Nevertheless, this argument could not be completely validated. For example, it has been proved that social networks like Facebook and Wechat enable us to contact with our friends without the limitation of distance and time. Without these online activities, our sense of intimation with our friends would not has been strengthened. Therefore, it is not reasonable to say the Internet is making people alienated.

In conclusion, although the invention of the Internet does has some weaknesses, I am in support of the idea that it still is the most important invention in the world.