There seems to be increasing number of serious crimes committed each year. While some think the best way is to use the death penalty as deterrent, many people think other measure will be needed. Discuss both view and give your opinion.

Crime rates all over the world has changeable depending on the social events and unique situations of cities. Crimes targeting people life apparently increased in the last years. Some people opine that capital punishment deter offenders committing serious crimes while others believe that it is not enough to solve this problem so that other measurements should be taken. This essay will discuss both of views and reach a decision at the end.

Since the beginning of the communities, capital punishment has been exist and used as a main deterrent tools to stop crimes. At now, death penalty is still executed by many countries in the world. In other words, the function of punishment is to prevent re-offence by implanting strong law reinforcements as a result the death penalty might be chosen under certain circumstances. For instance, during the WW2, the soldiers who are betrayed their countries and give important information to their enemies was sued for their life to avoid spying. As a result, it worked and allies countries prevented the spill of the private information. Hence, some people advocate that under certain conditions, capital punishment might be necessary to prevent crime.

On the other hand, some people believe that death penalty is very brutal for modern ages and other options such as cell imprisonment for life should be considered. To put simply, the capital punishment is irreversible and may damage many innocent people lives and their family. For example, according to a report from supreme judge court of United State, some innocent people who are accused for serious crimes still under arrested or imprisoned because of the lack of certain clues which are still ambiguous but cannot prove with forensic due to technical insufficiency. Thus, due to the gray zones in judicial system, some serious crime can be misinterpreted and cause serious and unpreventable damages in innocent people.

To recapitulate, although a group of people claim that capital punishment is the best way to prevent life-threatening crimes, other believes that it is unfair and other rehabilitation methods should be found. In my opinion, the death penalty is not needed for our times yet plenty of other ways of punishment could prevent serious crimes.